Car News Updated Hourly

Jaguar Land Rover Has Big Plans for the Near-Term Future

The three platform architectures underpinning new Range Rover, Discovery, Defender, and Jaguar models into the next decade are code-named MLA-Flex, EMA, and JEA. MLA-Flex debuted under the current L460 Range Rover, and it now also underpins the L461 Range Rover Sport. The next-generation Discovery and Defender models will also move on to MLA-Flex, which was designed from the outset to accommodate ICE, PHEV, and EV powertrains.

Like MLA-Flex, EMA was originally intended to be a convergence platform for JLR’s compact SUVs, capable of packaging either a PHEV powertrain with a conventional transverse-mounted ICE or a pure EV powertrain. However, EMA will now be EV-only, underpinning the Range Rover Evoque EV, the Discovery Sport EV, and the long-rumored baby Defender EV.

This article was originally published by a www.motortrend.com . Read the Original article here. .

Subscribe To Our Email List

If you ain't first, you're last! Join to get the latest updates and exclusive offers!

Welcome to the club!

Something went wrong.